Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ eau ’

ETV: The video report!

May 21, 2009 | Comments Off | Enterprises, Videos

ETV: Water at the source of social change; the video of our second report…

Fair Street - ETV from Angalio Productions on Vimeo.

The second report takes place at Bariloche, in Northern Patagonia. After a meeting in Buenos Aires with the manager of Ashoka, a network that supports social entrepreneurs, we decide to change our itinerary and make a “small” 2000 km detour to Bariloche.

Problems:

Water: Water is a crucial concern, at the very heart of the environmental challenge confronting humanity. Management, supply and diminishing resources are all issues on which much progress still needs to be made. Water quality has a huge impact on the living conditions of the poorest populations. Better water quality improves both the food supply and the hygiene of those “at the Base of the Pyramid”. With improved hygiene they are better prepared to confront the challenges of their everyday life and they can shift their efforts from fighting for survival to their personal development.

Education : In developing countries, there are currently 75 million children who do not attend school, and 861 million illiterate adults. Access to education is universally recognized as a key factor for economic and social development. Education develops knowledge, and gives access to employment: by learning concepts and techniques, marginalized communities can benefit from growth and improve their situation. They are then able to take personal responsibility for themselves and for their families. In developing each individual’s potential,  Education makes a real difference to the dignity of the human condition. “To ensure that, by 2015, children everywhere, boys and girls alike, will be able to complete a full course of primary schooling” is one of the objectives of the United Nations’ program to eliminate poverty by 2015.

Context

Despite its status as an emerging country, Argentina is a country where poverty is still prevalent, be it in big cities like Buenos Aires or in far-off regions such as Bariloche. The economic crisis that hit the country at the start of the decade had a profoundly detrimental effect on the country’s economic and social situation (between 1998 and 2001, the GDP fell from 300 to 220 billion pesos!), and its consequences remain highly tangible today. In Argentina, over half the population lives below the poverty line, and one in five is in a state of complete destitution, with revenues insufficient to provide even the necessary minimum to maintain physical capacity. This situation is mainly the consequence of a high unemployment rate: in the region of Bariloche, a quarter of the active population is unemployed, and this figure reaches 75% in the most remote areas.

The direct consequence of this poverty is the marginalization and social exclusion of a substantial proportion of the population. People live in precarious conditions which are often difficult to escape.

The company:

ETV (Emprendimientos de Tecnologias para la Vida) was founded in 2006 and aims at developing, building and distributing technological solutions to improve the living conditions of the people at the base of the social pyramid. Currently, the main product developed by ETV is the Bomba de Soga, which pumps water. ETV’s objectives are threefold: to harness the potential of technological innovations for the poorest communities; to provide work to young people from the Fondation Gente Nueva; and finally, to use some of the revenues generated by the sales of their products to fund the foundation. However, at this stage, the profits generated do not yet allow significant progress towards the achievement this third objective.

Created 25 years ago, the Fondation Gente Nueva aims to promote education and access to employment to those excluded from the traditional educational system. Helped by a network of primary and secondary schools, and the development of workshops and regional education programs, Gente Nueva wants to give each individual a chance to realize his or her potential. The schools of the Gente Nueva network are free, and the salaries of teachers, who are selected by members of the foundation, are paid by the State.

ETV products are made in the workshops of Gente Nueva, which employs a workforce of young apprentices.

The entrepreneur:

Gustavo Gennuso is originally from Buenos Aires, but he has been living in Barichole for the last 30 years. He moved there when he started studying nuclear energy at the Balseiro Institute. He continued to work in this field until 2000, whilst developing his social innovations. After creating the Fondation Gente Nueva, Gustavo now wants to prove with ETV that a viable and lasting social impact is possible. Gustavo Gennuso’s ambition is to achieve profound social change. He wants to give the poorest members of society every opportunity to develop. By accomplishing social change, he wishes to transform not only the lives of the poor, but also society as a whole.

Social impact:

ETV aims at making significant improvements to the living conditions of the poorest people. Technology development is but a means to this end. The company’s social impact is threefold: first, it improves the living conditions of those at the Base of the Pyramid; second, it creates opportunities for those suffering from exclusion; and thirdly, it finances the Fondation Gente Nueva. In three years of existence, ETV has already succeeded in reaching out to 300 families. The long-term objective is to have a direct impact on the lives of 150 000 people.

Since its creation, the Fondation Gente Nueva has welcomed over 5000 young people into its classes. It has also trained  another 3000 young people through its regional education programs. Gustavo Gennuso’s initiatives have also had an influence on political decisions relating to education in the regions where he is active.

Financial impact:

In this case, the financial impact lies more in the role played by microfinance in extending the company’s social impact than in direct financing.

Microfinance : Micro-credit is an innovation that has allowed millions of people to extract themselves from poverty. If access to capital can allow poor people to create a micro-enterprise, why should it not also allow them to buy products that will significantly improve their living conditions? Such is ETV’s strategy. It is true that the targets of Gustavo’s social business can often not afford to buy his products. The “Bomba de Soga” costs 700 pesos (+/- €140). People who earn an average of €2 per day can hardly hope to find such an amount. So, in order to extend its social impact, ETV uses the micro-credit formula to make its products more accessible. Thus, ETV’s clients fund the purchase of a water pump with a micro-credit. This support from microfinance has a twofold impact: it extends ETV’s social impact, but it also increases the future benefits of the company — and, therefore, the financial resources available to Gente Nueva, who can in turn accelerate social change through increased access to education. As micro-credit is not one of ETV’s activities, they collaborate with different MFIs (Microfinance institutions) and NGOs from the regions where they are active (mainly Northern Patagonia and the Jujuy province). This collaboration with the microfinance sector is the only way to reach the targeted 150 000 people.

Financing: In parallel with its social vocation, ETV also aims to provide financial resources for the Fondation Gente Nueva. This type of model is fairly widespread among social enterprise initiatives: in order to avoid being dependent on donations, “business” solutions are preferred and “social businesses” are created with the aim of financing the non-profit side of their activity. The remainder of the profits are reinvested in the company in order to finance research for other new technologies.

ETV and Gente Nueva have received a financial contribution from the organization Ashoka — which we will present later — of which Gustavo is a member. The company also benefited from various funds, essentially from philanthropic investors, in particular a Swiss “business angel” who has provided a credit on very favorable terms (but about which we have not received any other details). Today, ETV is seeking financial backing amounting to $74 000 (€54 833) in order to finance investments necessary for them to achieve the objectives of their business plan — specifically, for the launch of new technologies.

The strength of Gustavo’s model resides in its capacity to tackle different problems simultaneously. The all-embracing nature of his organization is striking! His model features three essential elements in the fight against poverty: education, access to capital, and healthcare. By creating synergies between different organizations, he can considerably extend his social impact, and this allows him to implement lasting change.

Sources : Interview with Gustavo Gennuso, founder of ETV and of Fondation Gente Nueva

www.unesco.org

www.oms.org

www.schwabfound.org

www.changemakers.net

Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ eau ’

ETV: Le reportage vidéo!

mai 21, 2009 | Comments Off | Entreprises, Vidéos

ETV: L’eau à la source du changement social; la vidéo de notre deuxième reportage…

Fair Street - ETV from Angalio Productions on Vimeo.

Le deuxième reportage se déroule à Bariloche, dans le nord de la Patagonie. C’est suite à notre rencontre à Buenos Aires avec la responsable d’Ashoka (réseau soutenant les entrepreneurs sociaux) en Argentine  que nous décidons de modifier notre itinéraire et de faire le « petit » détour  de 2000 kilomètres qui nous mène à Bariloche.

Problématiques:

L’eau : au sein du défi environnemental auquel est confronté l’humanité, la crise de l’eau devient une considération centrale. Les diminutions des ressources, sa gestion et son approvisionnement sont des aspects sur lesquels de nombreux progrès doivent encore être effectués. La qualité de l’eau a une influence énorme sur les conditions de vie des populations pauvres. Une eau de meilleure qualité améliore l’alimentation et l’hygiène de vie des personnes « à la Base de la Pyramide ». Avec une meilleure hygiène de vie, ils peuvent affronter plus facilement les défis de leur vie quotidienne et leurs efforts se déplacent de la lutte pour leur subsistance à leur développement personnel.

L’éducation : les pays en développement comptent actuellement 75 millions d’enfants qui ne vont pas à l’école et 861 millions d’adultes analphabètes. L’accès à l’éducation est unanimement reconnu comme l’un des facteurs clés du développement économique et social. L’éducation développe la connaissance et permet la professionnalisation : par l’apprentissage de concepts et de techniques, les communautés les plus marginalisées peuvent bénéficier de la croissance et améliorer leur situation. Ils ont alors les moyens de s’assumer personnellement mais également de prendre en charge leurs familles. En développant le potentiel de chacun, l’éducation touche directement à la dignité de l’être humain. « Donner à tous les enfants, garçons et filles, partout dans le monde, les moyens d’achever un cycle complet d’études primaires» est l’un des objectifs du programme des Nations Unies visant à éliminer la pauvreté d’ici 2015.

Contexte

Malgré son statut de pays émergent, l’Argentine est un pays où la pauvreté est encore très présente, tant dans des grandes villes comme Buenos Aires que dans des régions éloignées comme celle de Bariloche. La crise du début des années 2000 a profondément dégradé la situation économique et sociale du pays (de 1998 à 2001, le PIB est passé de 300 à 220 milliards de pesos !) et ses conséquences s’en ressentent encore aujourd’hui. En Argentine, plus de 50% de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté et 20% est dans un état d’indigence complète (lorsque les revenus ne suffisent pas à assurer le minimum nécessaire au maintien de la capacité physique). Cette situation est notamment due à un taux de chômage important : dans la région de Bariloche, un quart de la population active n’a pas de travail et ce chiffre peut atteindre 75% dans les zones les plus reculées.

Les conséquences directes de cette pauvreté est l’exclusion sociale et la marginalisation d’une importante tranche de la population. Les gens connaissent des conditions de vie précaires dont il leur est souvent difficile de sortir.

L’entreprise :

ETV (« Emprendimientos de Tecnologias para la Vida ») a été fondée en 2006 et cherche à développer, fabriquer et diffuser des solutions technologiques améliorant les conditions de vie des personnes à « la Base de la Pyramide ». Actuellement, le principal produit développé par ETV est la « Bomba de Soga » qui pompe de l’eau potable. L’objectif d’ETV est multiple: premièrement, ils veulent utiliser le potentiel des innovations technologiques en les adressant aux communautés les plus pauvres ; ensuite, ETV fournit du travail à des jeunes de la Fondation Gente Nueva et enfin, les revenus générés par la vente de leurs produits doivent servir à partiellement financer la fondation. Cependant, à ce stade-ci, les revenus générés ne permettent pas encore d’atteindre significativement ce dernier objectif.

Créée il y a 25 ans, la Fondation Gente Nueva cherche à promouvoir l’éducation et la professionnalisation des personnes qui sont exclues du système éducatif traditionnel. À l’aide d’un réseau d’écoles primaires et secondaires mais également par le développement d’ateliers de travail et de programmes éducatifs régionaux, Gente Nueva veut donner à chaque individu  la chance d’exprimer son potentiel. Les écoles du réseau Gente Nueva sont gratuites et le salaire des professeurs, qui sont sélectionnés par les membres de la fondation, est payé par l’état.

La fabrication des produits d’ETV est réalisée dans les ateliers de travaux de Gente Nueva, ce qui offre du travail à toute une série de jeunes apprentis.

L’entrepreneur :

Gustavo Gennuso est originaire de Buenos Aires mais vit à Bariloche depuis trente ans. Il s’y est installé lorsqu’il est venu étudier l’énergie nucléaire à l’Institut Balseiro. Il a continué à travailler dans ce domaine jusqu’en 2000 mais a parallèlement développé ses innovations sociales. Après avoir créé la Fondation Gente Nueva, Gustavo veut maintenant prouver au travers d’ETV qu’il est possible d’avoir un impact social tout en étant rentable et durable. L’ambition de Gustavo Gennuso est d’accomplir un profond changement social. Il veut donner aux plus pauvres, toutes les opportunités possibles de se développer. En accomplissant le changement social, il ne veut pas seulement transformer la vie des plus pauvres mais la société dans son ensemble.

Impact social :

ETV cherche à considérablement améliorer les conditions de vie des personnes les plus pauvres. Le développement de technologies n’est que le moyen devant servir la fin. L’activité de l’entreprise a un triple impact social : premièrement, l’amélioration des conditions de vie de la « Base de la Pyramide », deuxièmement, la création d’opportunités de travail pour les gens « exclus », et troisièmement, le financement de Fondation Gente Nueva. En 3 années d’existence, ETV est déjà parvenu à toucher 300 familles. Leur objectif est à terme d’avoir un impact direct sur 150 000 personnes.

La Fondation Gente Nueva a, depuis sa création, accueilli plus de 5000 jeunes dans ses différentes classes. Elle a également formé 3000 jeunes additionnels via ses programmes éducatifs régionaux. Les initiatives de Gustavo Gennuso ont également eu une influence sur les décisions politiques relatives à l’éducation dans les régions où il est actif.

Impact financier :

L’impact financier se trouve ici davantage dans le rôle joué par la microfinance pour étendre l’impact social que dans le financement direct de l’entreprise.

Microfinance : Le micro-crédit est une innovation qui a permis à des millions de personnes de s’extraire de la pauvreté. Si l’accès au capital permet aux populations pauvres de démarrer une micro-entreprise, pourquoi ne leur permettrait-il pas également d’acquérir des  produits qui doivent influencer significativement leurs conditions de vie ? C’est la stratégie adoptée par ETV. En effet, la cible du social business de Gustavo, n’a le plus souvent pas les moyens d’acheter leurs produits. La « Bomba de Soga » coûte 700 pesos (+/- 140 euros). Un montant que des gens qui gagnent en moyenne 2 euros par jour, peuvent difficilement payer. Afin d’étendre son impact social, ETV utilise donc la recette du micro-crédit et rend ses produits plus accessibles. Les clients d’ETV financent donc l’achat de la pompe à eau à l’aide d’un micro-crédit qui leur a été octroyé.  L’impact du soutien de la microfinance est double : il permet d’abord d’étendre l’impact social d’ETV ; ensuite il doit augmenter les revenus de l’entreprise et donc les ressources financières disponibles pour Gente Nueva qui à son tour peut accélérer le changement social via l’accès à l’éducation. Le micro-crédit n’étant pas une activité d’ETV, ils collaborent avec différentes IMF’s (institutions de microfinance) mais également avec des ONG’s des régions où ils sont actifs (principalement le nord de la Patagonie et la province de Jujuy). Cette collaboration avec la microfinance est le seul moyen d’atteindre les 150 000 personnes qu’ils visent.

Financement: parallèlement à sa vocation sociale, l’objectif d’ETV est donc d’apporter des ressources financières à la fondation Gente Nueva. Ce type de modèle est assez courant dans les initiatives des entrepreneurs sociaux : afin de ne pas être dépendant des donations, ils  optent pour la solution « du marché » en créant des « social business » dont le but est de financer l’activité qui ne génère pas de profit. L’autre partie des profits est réinvestie dans l’entreprise afin de financer la recherche d’autres technologies.

ETV (et Gente Nueva) a reçu une contribution financière de l’organisation Ashoka (que nous présenterons ultérieurement) dont Gustavo est membre. L’entreprise a  également bénéficié de différents fonds provenant essentiellement d’investisseurs philanthropes, notamment un business angel suisse, qui leur a fait un crédit à des conditions très favorables (mais sur lesquelles nous n’avons pas obtenu plus de détails…). Aujourd’hui, ETV cherche des ressources financières d’un montant équivalent à 74 000$ (54 833€) qui leur permettrait de financer les investissements nécessaires à la réalisation des objectifs de leur business plan, plus particulièrement l’introduction de nouvelles technologies.

La force du modèle de Gustavo réside dans sa capacité à traiter différentes problématiques. Nous sommes en effet frappés par le caractère complet de son organisation. Trois facteurs essentiels de la lutte contre la pauvreté sont présents dans son modèle à savoir: l’éducation, l’accès au capital et la santé. En créant des synergies entre différentes organisations, il permet d’étendre considérablement l’impact social et de construire le changement de manière durable. 

 

Sources :

Entretien réalisé avec Gustavo Gennuso, fondateur d’ETV et de Fondation Gente Nueva

www.unesco.org

www.oms.org

www.schwabfound.org

www.changemakers.net