Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ coronilla ’

In 2002, Coronilla received $400 000 from the SEAF investment fund. This contribution, in debt and capital has enabled Coronilla to convert itself into a stock corporation and to develop its exports. In 2004, Coronilla has bought back its shares to SEAF.

Small Enterprise Assistance Fund (SEAF) is an investment fund based in Washington DC. It focuses on small and medium enterprises with high growth potential in developing countries by providing them with capital, technical and operational support.

SEAF positions itself as a sustainable and professional institution caring for the return of its shareholders. In addition to the financial return, SEAF wants to contribute to the economic and social development of developing countries. It uses its capital, its know-how and its global network to accelerate the growth and the sustainability of its investees with the central objective of allowing them to generate profit that beneficiates to local communities.

SEAF is structured in local teams that are present in markets that generally seem unattractive to traditional investors (they have recently opened a local office in Afghanistan). In addition to providing capital, SEAF offers technical and operational support to its companies helping them professionalising and improving their organisational structure. In the case of Coronilla, SEAF assisted Martha Wille in converting the family business into a stock corporation. Moreover, working with local teams and paying attention to the national culture is an essential element of the SEAF fund.

SEAF has invested more than $260m in more than 30 countries mainly in Asia, Europe and Latin America. Up to now, the fund has made more than 150 investments generating an average added value 1.7 times higher than the amount initially invested.

SEAF considers that investing in SMEs is a promising tool to dynamise growth in developing countries and to fight poverty. It focuses on companies having a positive impact socially and environmentally and exclude investments linked to tobacco, alcohol, weapons and other activities generating speculation or having a negative impact on society.

SEAF mostly invests using capital and debt. It pays a strong attention to the liquidity of its investments developing exit rights rigorously defined . It also favours a flexible approach to answer adequately the specifics of each enterprise.

The impact of SEAF is considerable on the financial and social aspects. It has been proved that each dollar invested by SEAF generates on average 12 dollars in the local economy. Its investments positively influence many stakeholders including employees, suppliers, consumers and the society as a whole.

The average financial return of SEAF’s investments is 21%. It is worth mentioning that the global return (Economic Rate of Return) rises to 66% if we include the social factors and the global impact on society.

SEAF is financed mainly through institutional investors (World Bank, European Bank for Development, Belgian Investment office, etc) willing to invest on a sustainable way.

seaf1

Coronilla: The video report!

June 28, 2009 | Comments Off | Enterprises, Videos

Coronilla is a company based in Cochabamba, Bolivia, that produces gluten-free pastas and snacks. Coronilla’s objective is to have a positive impact on all the actors of its value chain. Therefore it buys its raw materials at a fair price to local suppliers, its workforce is composed of 75% of women with 10% with  of the employees that are disabled and it offers optimal working conditions. Discover the interview of Martha Wille, the entrepreneur that insufflated her social fibre to Coronilla.

For more information, read Coronilla’s profile

Fair Street - Coronilla from Angalio Productions on Vimeo.

After the fascinating discovery of the solar cookers, Fair Street made a second reporting in Cochabamba, Bolivia. We had indeed the chance to meet Martha Wille who manages Coronilla, a family business created more than 40 years ago. Through her actions, Martha made of Coronilla the perfect example of a company that beneficiates to all the actors of its value chain.

Problematic and context:

Coronilla addresses problematic that are directly linked to the political and social situation of Bolivia. Even if a progressive opening to market economy has improved the economic situation of the country, Bolivia remains today the poorest country in South America with strong inequalities between urban areas where 60% of the population is poor and rural areas where this figure rises to 80%.

The bad living conditions of the Amerindians (60% of the total population) is one of the main issues in Bolivia. Evo Morales’ accession to power triggered a lot of hope among this segment of the Bolivian population. Nevertheless, many still live in precarious conditions. As homeland for the majority of the Indian population, the Bolivian Altiplano, region of high plateau at heights of more than 3000 meters is particularly poor. There, people essentially live from agriculture, first sector of activity of the country, and earn unstable and little wages.

If it is the case of many poor countries, the situation of women in Bolivia is particularly worrying. In the 90s’, this problem was even considered as one of the plagues of the country. A study made in 1994 showed that close to 70% of the women endured domestic violence. Today, Bolivian women still suffer important discrimination compared to men. With their main task being house caring, they have a limited economic power and are therefore strongly depending on their husband. This isolation, combined to wife-beating prevents women from taking part to the development as they are too busy defending themselves.

At the root of the women marginalisation stands their low level of instruction that reduces their emancipation possibilities.

Fortunately, in the last 10 years, the situation of women has become a central preoccupation in Bolivia and many initiatives and laws that aim at improving their situation have appeared but a lot still needs to be made.

The company:

Founded in 1972 by Guillermo Wille, Coronilla has been a pasta producing company from its beginning. In the mid-90s’, the export market strongly contracted, putting the enterprise close to bankruptcy. Martha Wille, daughter of Guillermo Wille redynamised the company by diversifying the product range. If Guillermo Wille already paid attention to the well being of its employees, it is with Wartha that the second life of Coronilla as a social enterprise really started. Today, the company produces pastas and snacks mixing quinoa and a traditional andine cereal that makes them gluten-free.

Coronilla wants to fight poverty by having a positive impact throughout its value chain. As CSR (Corporate Social Responsability) is a relatively unknown concept in South America (even less in Bolivia), Coronilla wants to be a pioneer. In its buyings, the enterprise purchases its ingredients (quinoa, rice…) directly to destitute local producers, negotiates in their own language (Quechua or Aymara) and offers them price stability.

The employees also have a very important place in the company’s strategy. 75% of the employees are women and 10% are disabled. The working conditions are optimal in terms of hygiene and security and the enterprise provides its employees with the possibility to study or to follow complementary training. Finally, Coronilla offers support to the working families so they can put their children at school.

As there is very little demand for organic food in Bolivia, Coronilla only focuses on exportation. Today, the company exports to 11 countries in North America, Europe and Oceania.

The entrepreneur:

Daughter of Guillermo Wille, Coronilla’s founder, Martha Wille was influenced by the social convictions of his father and incorporated them to the family business. As manager of the family business and being extremely attentive to the well-being of its employees, Martha wants all the employees to feel part of the Coronilla family.

After being elected social entrepreneur of the year 2005 by the Schwab foundation, Martha was invited to participate to the World Economic Forum in Davos where she met many other social entrepreneurs. As a follow-up to the exchange of ideas taking place there, Martha’s next challenge is to launch a foundation « the Guillermo Wille Foundation » that will work on the to replication of Coronilla’s model by giving advice to Bolivian companies and encouraging them to adopt CSR policies.

Social impact:

Buying its ingredients to local producers following Fair Trade principles, Coronilla provides a stable source of revenues to 1500 families allowing them to maintain a certain life standard.

As Martha told us during the interview, by providing a respectful and blossoming work environment, the company wants to have a positive impact on the lives of its 65 employees. After the production manager noticed that an employee had developed a skill at resolving the problems that occurred on the production chain, the company encouraged her to attend a two year engineering program. Today, this employee enjoys a much higher wage that allowed her to provide her children with higher quality education.

The economic autonomy aquired by women working at Coronilla facilitates their emancipation.

Financial impact:

Since 1997, two organisations have contributed to Coronilla’s development

The first, SEAF (Small Enterprise Assistance Fund), has invested $400 000 (mix of capital and debt) through its fund « fondo Capital Activo de Bolivia », to finance its needs in working capital. More than the supply of capital, SEAF support helped Coronilla in improving its accounting practices and in transforming into a stock corporation. SEAF essentially professionalised the company. Coronilla bought back SEAF’s shares in 2004.

After SEAF’s help, Coronilla still only used 20% of its production capacity in 2004 and the enterprise needed capital to keep growing. Back then, Coronilla obtained a loan of €350 000 from the Dutch organisation Cordaid. This loan allowed Coronilla to double its exports within the same year. Today, Coronilla’s exports are close to $1 000 000 using 50% of the productive capacity. If the company has met a high growth in the last 5 years, it still enjoys important growth potential that should enable it to spread its fixed costs better and increase its margins.

By continuing to create value for all its stakeholders (producers, employees, shareholders and clients) Martha Wille is convinced that Coronilla is meant to be a major company in Bolivia.

Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ coronilla ’

En 2002, l’entreprise Coronilla a reçu 400 000 dollars du fonds d’investissement SEAF. Cet apport, sous forme de capital et de dette, a permis à Coronilla de se convertir en société anonyme et de développer son marché d’exportation. A la fin du processus, Coronilla a eu l’opportunité de racheter les parts de SEAF.

Small Enterprise Assistance Fund (SEAF) est une société d’investissement basée à Washington. Ils se focalisent principalement sur les petites et moyennes entreprises à haut potentiel de croissance dans les pays en développement en leur fournissant du capital et en apportant un soutien technique et opérationnel.

SEAF se positionne avant tout comme une entreprise rentable et professionnelle, soucieuse du return de ses actionnaires. En plus de la performance financière, SEAF veut contribuer au développement économique et social des pays en développement. Leur stratégie est d’utiliser leurs capitaux, leur « know how » et leur réseau global afin d’accélérer la croissance et la rentabilité des entreprises avec pour objectif central de leur permettre de générer des bénéfices économiques qui profitent aux communautés locales.

SEAF est structuré en équipes locales présentes dans des marchés souvent peu attractifs aux yeux des investisseurs traditionnels (ils ont récemment ouvert un bureau local en Afghanistan) et choisit des entreprises efficientes à hauts potentiels de croissance gérées de manière compétentes. En plus d’apporter des capitaux, SEAF offre un soutien technique et opérationnel aux entreprises leur permettant de se professionnaliser et d’améliorer leur structure organisationnelle. L’entreprise Coronilla s’est par exemple convertie en société anonyme grâce au soutien de SEAF. Travailler avec des équipes locales et être attentifs à la culture de chaque pays est donc une composante essentielle du fond SEAF.

SEAF a investi plus de 260 millions de dollars dans plus de 30 pays principalement en Asie, Europe et Amérique Latine. Jusqu’à présent, le fond a accompli près de 150 investissements générant en moyenne une plus-value représentant 1,7 fois le montant initialement investit.

SEAF considère que les PME sont un outil efficace pour dynamiser la croissance des pays en développement et pour lutter contre la pauvreté. Ils se focalisent sur les entreprises ayant un impact positif sur le plan social et environnemental et excluent de leurs investissements les activités liées au tabac, alcool, armement et toutes autres activités engendrant de la spéculation ou ayant un effet néfaste sur la société.

L’investissement sous forme de capital et la dette subordonnée sont les principaux instruments financiers que SEAF utilise. Ils prennent soin de garder une certaine sécurité face à la liquidité de leurs investissements au travers « d’exit rigths » rigoureusement définis tout en favorisant une approche assez flexible pour répondre adéquatement aux particularités de chaque entreprise.

L’impact des investissements de SEAF est considérable tant d’un point de vue financier que social ; il a été prouvé que chaque dollar investi par SEAF a généré en moyenne 12 dollars au sein de l’économie locale. Les effets bénéfiques des investissements se font ressentir sur l’ensemble des « stakeholders » incluant les employés, fournisseurs, consommateurs et le reste de la société.

Le return financier moyen des investissements de SEAF est de 21%, cependant le return global (Economic Rate of Return) augmente à 66% si on inclut les facteurs sociaux et l’impact global sur la société.

SEAF se finance principalement au travers d’investisseurs institutionnels (la Banque Mondiale, la banque européenne pour le développement, le Belgian Investment Office, etc.) soucieux de l’impact social et de la durabilité de leurs investissements

Pour plus d’info, visitez www.seaf.com


seaf1

Coronilla: Le reportage vidéo!

juin 28, 2009 | Comments Off | Entreprises, Vidéos

Coronilla est une entreprise basée à Cochabamba en Bolivie qui produit des pâtes et des snacks sans gluten. L’objectif de Coronilla est d’avoir un impact positif sur tous les acteurs de sa chaîne de production. Pour ce faire, elle achète ses matières premières à des prix équitables auprès de producteurs locaux, sa main d’œuvre est constituée à 75% de femmes et à 10% de personnes à capacité réduites et offre des conditions de travail optimales. Découvrez l’interview de Martha Wille, l’entrepreneur qui a insufflé sa fibre sociale à Coronilla.

Pour plus d’info, lisez le profil de Coronilla

Fair Street - Coronilla from Angalio Productions on Vimeo.

Après l’extraordinaire découverte des fours solaires, Fair Street a réalisé un deuxième reportage dans la ville de Cochabamba, Bolivie. Nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer Martha Wille, qui est à la tête d’une entreprise familiale créée il y a plus de 40 ans. Martha s’est lancée dans l’ambitieux projet de démontrer que l’activité d’une entreprise peut bénéficier à tous les acteurs de la chaîne de production.

Problématique & Contexte :

Les problématiques sociales auxquelles s’intéresse Coronilla sont directement liées à la situation politique et sociale de la Bolivie. Bien qu’une progressive ouverture à l’économie de marché durant les années 90 ait amélioré la situation économique du pays, la Bolivie reste aujourd’hui le pays le plus pauvre d’Amérique du Sud avec d’importantes inégalités entre milieux urbains, où 60% de la population est pauvre, et ruraux où ce chiffre s’élève à 80%.

L’un des problèmes sociaux majeur de la Bolivie réside dans les conditions de vie des populations amérindiennes qui constituent pourtant la majorité de la population. L’accession d’Evo Morales au pouvoir suscite beaucoup d’espoirs au sein de cette tranche de la population bolivienne. Néanmoins, beaucoup vivent encore dans des conditions très précaires. C’est le cas notamment des habitants de l’Atiplano bolivien, région de hauts plateaux située à plus de 3000m d’altitude. Les habitants de l’Altiplano vivent essentiellement de l’agriculture qui est le premier secteur d’activité du pays. Vivant dans des régions reculées et produisant à petites échelles, leur pouvoir de négociation sur les acheteurs est réduit. Leurs revenus sont donc en général irréguliers et faibles.

Si c’est le cas dans de nombreux pays pauvres, la situation des femmes est particulièrement préoccupante en Bolivie. Dans les années 90, ce problème était même décrit comme l’un des fléaux du pays. Une étude réalisée en 1994 montra que près de 70% des femmes y étaient victimes de violence conjugales. Aujourd’hui encore, les femmes souffrent d’importantes discriminations par rapport aux hommes. Leur principale occupation étant la gestion du ménage, elles ont un pouvoir économique limité et sont totalement dépendantes de leur mari. Cette isolation, conjuguée à la violence conjugale empêche les femmes de prendre part au développement car elles sont trop occupées à se défendre. À l’origine de la marginalisation des femmes se trouve le faible niveau d’instruction qui limite leurs possibilités d’émancipation.

Depuis une dizaine d’années, la situation des femmes est néanmoins devenue une préoccupation grandissante en Bolivie et de nombreuses initiatives et lois visant à améliorer leurs droits ont vu le jour.

L’entreprise :

Fondée en 1972 par Guillermo Wille, Coronilla est à l’origine une entreprise productrice de pâtes. Au milieu des années 90, alors que le marché à l’exportation se contracte considérablement, l’entreprise est au bord de la faillite. Martha Wille, fille de Guillermo Wille, relance l’entreprise en diversifiant la ligne de produits. Bien que Guillermo Wille ait toujours cherché à instaurer différentes normes sociales au sein de son entreprise, c’est avec Martha que commence la deuxième vie de Coronilla en tant qu’entreprise sociale. Aujourd’hui l’entreprise produit des pâtes et des snacks faits à partir de quinoa et d’une traditionnelle céréale andine qui les rend libres de tout gluten.

Coronilla cherche à lutter contre la pauvreté en ayant un impact social positif sur les différents acteurs de sa chaine de valeur. Alors que la Responsabilité Sociétal d’Entreprise (RSE) est un concept très peu développé en Amérique du sud et encore moins en Bolivie, Coronilla se veut précurseur. L’entreprise achète ses ingrédients (quinoa, riz,…) directement auprès de producteurs de l’Altiplano bolivien vivant dans des conditions très précaires, négocie directement dans la langue de ces populations (le Quechua ou l’Aymara) et leur offre de la stabilité dans les prix.

Les employés sont également une composante extrêmement importante de l’entreprise. 75% des employés sont des femmes et 10% du personnel est constitué de personnes à capacités réduites. Les conditions de travail sont optimales en termes d’hygiène et de sécurité. L’entreprise donne également l’opportunité à certains de ses employés de suivre des études ou des formations complémentaires. Enfin, Coronilla offre un appui aux familles pour la scolarisation de leurs enfants.

Étant donné le peu de demande pour des produits bios en Bolivie, Coronilla s’est tournée vers l’exportation. Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise exporte dans près de 11 pays en Amérique du Nord en Europe et en Océanie.

L’entrepreneur:

Fille de Guillermo le fondateur de Coronilla, Martha Wille a conservé les convictions sociales de son père et les a intégrées aux principes de l’entreprise familiale. En tant que dirigeante d’une entreprise familiale et extrêmement soucieuse du bien être de ses employés, Martha veut que chaque employé se sente part de la famille et qu’il s’y sente bien.

Après avoir été élue entrepreneur social de l’année en 2005, par la Schwab Fondation, Martha fut invitée au forum économique de Davos où elle a rencontré de nombreux autres entrepreneurs sociaux. Suite à l’échange d’idées favorisé par ce genre de rencontres, Martha veut aujourd’hui lancer une fondation, « la Fondation Guillermo Wille », qui doit permettre de répliquer le modèle de Coronilla en conseillant d’autres entreprises en Bolivie et en les incitant à développer des programmes de RSE.

Impact Social:

En achetant ses ingrédients auprès de ses producteurs selon des normes de commerce équitable, Coronilla fournit une source de revenu régulière à 1500 familles et leur permet de maintenir un certain niveau de vie.

Comme nous l’a confié Martha lors de l’interview, en offrant un environnement de travail respectueux et épanouissant, l’entreprise cherche à avoir un effet positif sur la vie de famille de ses 65 employés. Après que le chef de production ait remarqué qu’une employée avait développé une aptitude à résoudre les problèmes techniques qui intervenaient sur la chaîne de production, l’entreprise l’a incitée à suivre un programme de 2 ans en ingénierie. Aujourd’hui, cette employée a vu son salaire considérablement augmenter ce qui lui a notamment permis de financer l’éducation de ses enfants.

L’autonomie économique acquise par les femmes travaillant chez Coronilla facilite leur émancipation.

Impact financier:

Depuis 1997, deux organisations ont contribué au développement de Coronilla.

La première, SEAF (Small Enterprise Assistance Fund), a investi 400 000$ (mix de capital et de dette) via son fond « Fondo Capital Activo de Bolivia », afin de financer les besoins en fond de roulement de l’entreprise. Au-delà de l’apport en capital, le soutien de SEAF a permis à Coronilla d’améliorer ses procédures comptables et de se transformer en société anonyme. SEAF a essentiellement participé à la professionnalisation de l‘entreprise. Coronilla a racheté les parts de SEAF en 2004.

Bien que SEAF ait joué un rôle important dans le développement de l’entreprise, en 2004, Coronilla n’utilisait que 20% de ses capacités de production et l’entreprise avait besoin de capital pour continuer à grandir. Coronilla a alors obtenu un prêt de 350 000€ de l’organisation hollandaise Cordaid. Ce prêt a permis à Coronilla de doubler ses exportations la même année. Aujourd’hui, les exportations de Coronilla atteignent près d’1 million $ tout en utilisant 50% de ses capacités de production. Si l’entreprise a connu une belle croissance depuis 5 ans, elle bénéficie encore d’une importante marge de progression qui devra lui permettre de davantage répartir ses coûts fixes et d’augmenter sa marge bénéficiaire.

En continuant à créer de la valeur pour chacun des acteurs (producteurs, employés, actionnaires et clients), Martha Wille est convaincue que Coronilla est appellée à devenir une entreprise majeure en Bolivie.