Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ Financial Agents ’

Oikocredit: Investing in people

May 5, 2009 | Comments Off | Financial Agents

Oikocredit is a Netherlands-based financial institution which specializes in ethical investments and whose aim is to finance development projects in the South. The name Oikocredit is a perfect representation of the organization’s philosophy: the word “Oiko” is derived from the ancient Greek oikos (meaning “house”, “community”, “world”), and “credit” refers to the Latin credere, “to believe”.

Working on a cooperative model, Oikocredit offers sustainable financial services to microfinance institutions, social enterprises and SMEs (small and medium-sized enterprises) with the main objective of obtaining financing which is favorable to development. The criteria for attributing capital are based on the feasibility and viability of business projects, but also take into account gender equality and social and environmental impact.

With over 30 years of experience, Oikocredit has succeeded in developing a solid structure, and is currently present in 69 countries. The institution has survived the present financial crisis particularly well, returning positive results in 2008: in that year its investments grew by 32%.

Through financial services such as loans, share placements and credit lines, Oikocredit and its partners have helped 15 million people throughout the world to improve their living standards in 2008.

For further information, visit www.oikocredit.org

01_oiko

Financial Agents

May 1, 2009 | Comments Off | Financial Agents

The aim of Fair Street is to present the face of ethical and responsible finance. Along the way, you will not only discover the financial players involved in the Fair Street Project, but also other models which fascinate us. They all share the same objective: to combine social performance and economic performance. Their diversity will give you an idea of the numerous existing possibilities and opportunities available…

Fairstreet

Social entrepreneurship & finance

Tag ‘ Acteurs Financiers ’

Oikocredit est une institution financière basée aux Pays-Bas, spécialisée dans les investissements éthiques et dont le but est de financer des projets de développement dans le Sud. Le nom Oikocredit en lui-même représente parfaitement la philosophie de l’organisation ; le mot Oiko est dérivé du mot grec ancien « Oikos » (« maison », « communauté », « monde ») et crédit réfère au mot latin « credere » (« croire »).

Fonctionnant selon un modèle de coopérative, Oikocredit fournit des services financiers durables à des institutions de microfinance, des entreprises sociales, des PME’s,… avec l’objectif central de procurer un financement qui soit en faveur du développement. Les critères d’attribution du capital se basent sur la viabilité et la faisabilité du projet d’entreprise mais également sur la participation des femmes, l’impact social et environnemental.

Oikocredit, avec plus de 30 ans d’expérience, a réussi à développer une structure solide et  est aujourd’hui présent dans 69 pays. L’institution a particulièrement bien résisté à la crise financière en affichant des résultats positifs en 2008 ; leurs investissements ont connu une croissance de 32%.

En proposant des services financiers tels que des prêts, des placements en actions, des lignes de crédit,… Oikocredit et ses partenaires ont aidé en 2008, 15 millions de personnes à travers le monde à améliorer leur condition de vie.

Pour plus d’info, visitez leur page web : www.oikocredit.org

01_oiko

Acteurs financiers

mai 1, 2009 | Comments Off | Acteurs Financiers

Fair Street veut mettre en avant le visage d’une finance éthique et responsable. Au cours du voyage, vous découvrirez les acteurs financiers impliqués dans le projet « Fair Street » mais également d’autres modèles que nous trouvons passionnants. Ils partagent tous le même objectif : combiner la performance sociale et économique.  Au travers de leur diversité, faites-vous une idée des nombreuses possibilités qui existent et des innombrables opportunités qui persistent…